Announcement of Winners for the

2019 CACA Young Investigator Awards and Student Excellence Awards


The Chinese American Chromatography Association (CACA) is pleased to announce the winners for its 2019 Young Investigation Awards (YIA) and Student Excellence Awards (SEA). These awards are awarded annually to outstanding scientists and students who have made exceptional contributions to the development of separation science and its applications.


Young Investigator Awards (2) Sponsored by Advanced Materials Technology and Agilent Technologies.

Dr. M. Farooq Wahab and Dr. Emmi Zheng have been selected to be the winners of the 2019 CACA Young Investigator Awards.

Dr. M. Farooq Wahab, a research engineer scientist at the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry of the University of Texas at Arlington, Texas (under the direction of Professor Daniel Armstrong), obtained his Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Alberta, Canada, and M.Sc. and B.Sc. from the University of Karachi, Pakistan. Farooq has made major contributions to the development of novel stationary phases (for chiral, ionic and hydrophilic compounds), and has 35 publications (20 as first authors) and numerous presentations. He served as a reviewer for many analytical chemistry journals and has won numerous awards.

Dr. Emmi Zheng, an R&D scientist in the Biotherapeutic Product Development Group of Smith & Nephew, Forth Worth, Texas, obtained her Ph.D. in Analytical Chemistry from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Nebraska (under the supervision of Professor David Hage), and B.Sc. from Jilin University, Changchun, China. Emmi has developed novel methodologies for the characterization of biotherapeutics and drug interactions including methods in high-performance affinity chromatography. She has 26 publications (8 as first authors) and numerous podium presentations.


Student Excellence Awards (2) sponsored by MAC-MOD Analytical

Kellen DeLaney and Juan Bian have been selected to be the winners of the 2019 CACA Student Excellence Awards.

Kellen DeLaney is a graduate student in the University of Wisconsin, Madison under the direction of Professor Lingjun Li. She obtained her B.Sc. from Penn State University, University Park, Pennsylvania. Kellen developed novel analytical methods for the characterization of biological systems including those using CE-MS as an imaging platform. She has 16 publications (8 as first authors).

Juan Bian is a graduate student in The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, under the direction of Professor Susan Olesik. She obtained her M.Sc. from Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China, and B.Sc. from Tianjin University, Tianjin, China. Her research in HPLC, CE and MS focused on method development for the characterization of biosystems, including those using enhanced fluidity liquid chromatography and pressure-mediated CE. She has 5 publications with three as first authors.


Award Selection Process and Presentation

The selection process is based on research accomplishments and innovations, the number of publications and impacts, and service record to the scientific community. The CACA award selection committee is chaired by Dr. Perry Wang of the U.S. FDA, and consists of four other CACA board members: Dr. Michael Ye of Millipore Sigma/Supelco, Professor He Yi of the City University of New York, John Jay College, Dr. Kelly Zhang of Genentech, and Dr. Michael Dong of MWD Consulting.

All four awards (plaques and cash awards, $1000 for YIA and $500 for SEA) will be presented at the CACA annual dinner event at Pittcon Philadelphia on March 19, 2019, at Joy Tsin Lau, 6-9 pm.


CACA is a non-profit organization with a mission to promote networking and career development for its members. CACA hosts frequent webinars and dinner events at Pittcon and HPLC Conferences to provide forums for sharing technical information in separation sciences and the development of collaborative relationships.  Additional information is available at


  Dr. M. Farooq Wahab of University of Texas at Arlington (YIA) 
 Emmi Zheng  Dr. Emmi Zheng of Smith & Nephew (YIA)
   Kellen DeLaney of University of Wisconsin at Madison (SEA)
   Juan Bian of The Ohio State University (SEA)




青年科学家奖(两名,分别由Advanced Materials Technology公司和安捷伦公司赞助)

M. Farooq Wahab博士和郑溪蔚(Emmi)博士荣获2019年CACA青年研究员奖。

来自德克萨斯州阿灵顿大学化学与生物化学系的工程师研究科学家M. Farooq Wahab博士目前在Daniel Armstrong教授的指导下工作。他拥有巴基斯坦卡拉奇大学颁发的理学学士和硕士学位,并于加拿大阿尔伯塔大学分析化学获得了博士学位。 Farooq在新型固定相(手性,离子和亲水化合物)的研究开发方面做出了重大贡献,已发表各类文章35篇(其中作为第一作者的有20多篇)及各类大会报告。他曾担任许多分析化学期刊的评论员,并赢得了众多奖项。

郑溪蔚(Emmi)博士是德克萨斯州Forth Worth的Smith&Nephew生物治疗产品开发组的研发科学家。她拥有吉林大学颁发的理学学士,并在内布拉斯加大学林肯分校化学(导师为David Hage教授)获得了博士学位。 Emmi开发了用于表征生物治疗药物和药物相互作用的新方法,包括高效亲和层析中的方法。她已发表26篇科学论文(第一作者8篇),并多次在各类大会上演讲。

学生卓越奖(两名,由MAC-MOD Analytical公司赞助)

Kellen DeLaney和 边娟 被选为2019年CACA学生卓越奖的获奖者。

Kellen DeLaney目前是威尔康辛大学麦迪逊分校李灵军教授的研究生。她拥有宾夕法尼亚州立大学颁发的学士学位。Kellen开发了应用于表征生物系统的新型分析方法,包括使用CE-MS作为成像平台等等。她已发表科学论文16篇(第一作者8篇)。

边娟是俄亥俄州哥伦布市俄亥俄州立大学Susan Olesik教授的研究生。她拥有天津大学颁发的理学学士学位、及上海交通大学颁发的理学硕士学位。她在高效液相色谱、毛细管电泳和质朴等方面的研究主要集中在生物系统表征的方法开发上,包括使用增强流动性液相色谱和压力介导的CE的方法等等。她已发表5篇科学论文,其中三篇为第一作者。


CACA的各奖项评选是基于申请人的研究成果和创新、科学论文数量及出版物的影响力、及为各类分离科学学会服务情况等等。 CACA奖项评选委员会由美国FDA的王功明(Perry)博士担任主席,由四名CACA董事会成员组成:Millipore Sigma / Supelco的叶茂春(Michael)博士,纽约城市大学的何翊教授,John Jay College ,Genentech的张珂(Kelly)博士和MWD咨询公司的唐纬中(Michael)博士。