Announcement of Winners for the

2022 CACA Young Investigator Awards and Student Excellence Awards


The Chinese American Chromatography Association (CACA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2022 Young Investigation Awards (YIA) and Student Excellence Awards (SEA). These awards are selected annually to recognize outstanding scientists and students who have made exceptional contributions to the development of separation science and its applications.


Young Investigator Awards (2) Sponsored by Advanced Materials Technology (

Dr.  Ting Ruan and Dr.  Imad Haidar Ahmad have been selected to win the 2022 CACA Young Investigator Awards.

Dr. Ruan is a professor at State Key Laboratory of Environmental Chemistry and Ecotoxicology, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Dr. Ruan excels in the identification of novel environmental organic pollutants using multiple chromatography-mass spectrometry techniques. His work has resulted in 55 publications in SCI-sourced journals with 2294 citations in total and an h-index of 31. He is the first or corresponding author in 29 papers published in top journals, including Environ. Sci. Technol., and Trends in Anal. Chem. He has been invited as Guest Editors/Associated Editors in journals in analytical chemistry and environmental science research fields.

Dr. Ahmad is a Principal Scientist and Scientific Supervisor for Analytical Chemistry Enabling Technologies in the R&D Department at Merck in New Jersey. Dr. Ahmad is an expert in two-dimensional liquid chromatography. In his postdoctoral work, he developed and investigated ultra-high stability stationary phases with unique selectivity. His paper on “Improved Synthesis of Carbon-Clad Silica Stationary Phases” was selected as a top ten in the field for 2013 by the Chemical and Engineering News. He is the first author for 20 out of his 39 publications, which include 2 front cover articles for Anal. Chem. He has over 50 presentations in international and national conferences, including 8 invited lectures in universities and the industry.

Student Excellence Awards (2) sponsored by MAC-MOD Analytical (

Jake Melby and Yen-Yu Yang have been selected to win the 2022 CACA Student Excellence Awards.

Mr. Jake Melby is a Ph.D. student under the direction of Professor Ying Ge at the University of Wisconsin. He obtained his B. Sc. at the University of Pittsburgh, PA, in 2016. His research focuses on top-down proteomics by developing small-scale size exclusion chromatography (SEC) with mass spectrometry enabling effective size-based separations using minimal amounts of sample.

Mr. Yen-Yu Yang is a Ph.D. student at the University of California Riverside, under the direction of Professor Yinsheng Wang. He received his M. Sc. at the National Taiwan University, Taiwan, in 2016 and B. Sc. degree at National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan, in 2014. Yen-Yu’s expertise focuses on scheduled liquid chromatography-multiple-reaction monitoring (LC-MRM) MS analysis.

Award Selection Process and Presentation

The selection process is based on research accomplishments/innovations, the number of publications and impacts, and the service record to the scientific community. The CACA award committee is chaired by Dr. Perry Wang of the U.S. FDA, and consists of four other CACA executive board members: Dr. Michael Ye of Millipore Sigma/Supelco, Professor Yi He of the City University of New York, John Jay College, Dr. Tao Chen of Genentech, and Dr. Michael Dong of MWD Consulting. 

All four awards (plaques and cash awards, $1000* for YIA, and $500* for SEA) will be presented to the winners at the CACA dinner networking event at PittCon. (*The winner who cannot attend Pittcon 2022 will only receive a plaque).

CACA is a non-profit organization with a mission to promote networking and career development for its members. CACA hosts frequent webinars, workshops, symposia, and dinner networking events at Pittcon, HPLC, and EAS Conferences to provide forums for sharing technical information in separation sciences and the development of collaborative relationships. Additional information is available at

 CACA 2022YIASEA winners